Destination Name

The Atherton Tableland is a fertile plateau which is part of the Great Dividing Range in Queensland, Australia. The Atherton Tablelands is a diverse region, covering an area of 64,768 square kilometres and home to 45,243 people (estimated resident population, Census 2011). The main population centres on the Atherton Tablelands are Mareeba and Atherton. Smaller towns include Tolga, Malanda, Herberton, Kuranda, Ravenshoe, Millaa Millaa, Chillagoe, Dimbulah, Mt Garnet, Mt Molloy, Tinaroo and Yungaburra.

The name of the destination has been debated by locals for many years.

  • Tablelands
  • Atherton Tablelands
  • Cairns Hinterland
  • Tropical Tablelands
  • Cairns Highlands

For destination marketing purposes, Atherton Tablelands Promotion Bureau Limited (established in 1986) the region has is referred to as Atherton Tablelands and best described as the region west of Cairns that sits within the boundaries of Mareeba Shire Council and Tablelands Regional Council.  As the tourism industry evolved, Cairns Highlands and Cairns Hinterland were used to position the destination in international markets. 

As the awareness and interest in the region increases and evident in trade and travel brochures, “Cairns Highlands” is no longer used and the region is marketed as the “Atherton Tablelands”.

Search phrases that include “Atherton Tablelands” continue to rank above the search phrase of “Tablelands”.